HomeHealthcareCisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 

Cisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 

The CIO for the U.S. Division of Protection (DoD) has lately issued DoD Handbook 8140.03 Our on-line world Workforce Qualification & Administration Program.* This can be a role-based strategy to determine, develop, and qualify people who’ve federal work roles that align with the DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF).  The brand new 8140 mandate will affect a bigger variety of federal staff and contractors. Moreover, distributors supporting applications may additionally have to qualify.      

Because the world of cybersecurity always modifications, so do the information, abilities, and talents (KSAs) which might be related to the expertise. Subsequently, the coaching wants to vary to deal with these new threats to make sure they align with the brand new necessities. The Division of Protection (DoD) is within the means of transitioning from DoD 8570.01-m work roles and related certifications to DoD 8140. Whereas beforehand, there have been 14 work roles, there’ll now be 52 work roles. Cisco is presently evaluating our current certifications and the way they align with the brand new DoD 8140 work roles.   

Cisco’s DoD 8570 Certifications 

Right this moment, DoD 8570 IAT certifications are nonetheless in impact. Meaning CCNA covers Info Assurance Tech (IAT) I & II (See DoD CIO waiver hyperlink), and CCNP Safety covers IAT III. Moreover, CyberOps Affiliate is on the DoD 8570 CSSP analyst and incident responder classes.

Please see the Cisco devoted 8570 internet web page for info. 

Transition to 8140   

Cisco is getting ready for the transition to 8140 by actively working with the DoD to align our certifications to the DCWF. Cisco understands that this evolution of the framework is a serious improve from the present DoD 8570.01-m Info Assurance Technician ranges I, II, and III.  As talked about above, the brand new framework can have over 52 work roles, with extra to come back.        

The 2 Our on-line world Workforce Components in DoD 8140 that Cisco might be centered on are: Our on-line world IT Workforce and Cybersecurity Workforce.** These two components embody over 14 work roles which might be on the coronary heart of Cisco expertise.

Particularly, CCNA, CCNP Enterprise, and CCNP Safety certifications cowl the job roles that construct, configure, and function. To spherical out the talent necessities in these job roles, the CyberOps Affiliate and CyberOps Skilled certifications prepare people who safe, defend, and monitor networks.  

Keep tuned as Cisco and the DoD collaborate to carry the very best in coaching and certifications to the market.   





Join Cisco U. | Be a part of the Cisco Studying Community.

Comply with Cisco Studying & Certifications

Twitter | Fb | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Use #CiscoU and #CiscoCert to hitch the dialog.


Supply hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments