HomeRunningWorld champion Noah Lyles wins award for finest U.S. monitor and discipline...

World champion Noah Lyles wins award for finest U.S. monitor and discipline athlete for third time

The 2023 season has been one to recollect for double dash world champion, Noah Lyles, who turned the primary sprinter because the famend Usain Bolt in 2015 to win each the 100m and 200m occasions at a World Athletics Championships. On Wednesday, he added yet another award to his spectacular record of accolades, profitable the 2023 Jesse Owens Award for the most effective U.S. male monitor and discipline athlete.

That is Lyles’s third time profitable the celebrated award given yearly by the usA. Observe and Area (USATF), placing him in elite firm with solely Michael Johnson as the one different athlete to win the award 3 times.

Noah Lyles Budapest
Lyles celebrates his win along with his household on the 2023 World Athletics Championships in Budapest. Photograph: Kevin Morris

Lyles was probably the most dominant sprinter on this planet this yr, profitable gold medals within the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay this previous summer season on the 2023 World Athletics Championships in Budapest. The three world titles had been added to the earlier three he received on the 2022 World Athletics Championships within the 200m and in 2019 within the 200m and 4x100m relay.

“It’s an honour to obtain my third Jesse Owens Award and to be related to such a legendary athlete,” mentioned Lyles in his acceptance speech. “I wish to thank USATF for this award, in addition to my coach, Lance Brauman, my household and everybody who supported me on this historic season. I couldn’t have carried out this alone and I can’t wait to select up proper the place we left off for 2024.”

Noah Lyles fires again at rapper Drake’s remark

The Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award was additionally awarded by the USATF to the highest feminine athlete of the yr, which went to newly-crowned world 100m champion Sha’Carri Richardson. Richardson is the primary feminine 100m sprinter to win the Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award since Carmelita Jeter in 2011.

Sha'Carri Richardson Budapest
Sha’Carri Richardson on the 2023 World Athletics Championships. Photograph: Kevin Morris

Richardson and Lyles had been each nominees for World Athletics’ Athlete of the 12 months. Lyles was introduced as one of many 5 finalists for the award earlier this week. 

Supply hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments